Tribute to Robin Williams : O’ Captain My Capatin

Robin Williams:

“O Captain, My Captain”, is one of the jewels of poetry, composed by Walt Whitman. But, what it makes it all the more special, is the sequence above from the movie Dead Poets Society starring Robin Williams. This is also the first poem that I recited in the year 2002. It has been a memorable experience of my life, as I remember being in tears half way through the recitation. If heart felt, the poem can touch chords of emotion like nothing else can. So I stand again, and pay tribute to Robin Williams and chant for him, “O’ Captain, My Captain.” If you are a fan too, don’t refrain yourselves from following the act.

If you are from one of the schools that likes to take you out for movie excursions, then you have definitely seen Jumanji! That was the first English Movie I saw in a theater with my classmates. I remember coming back home, buying the board game and playing with my mother and friends. Then I also remember watching the movie over and over again on Star Movies and repeating umpteen times that this was my first English movie. He can bring tears to your eyes, leaving you confused if its his comedy or his drama, that touched you.

Indian youth is showing an increasingly high affinity towards Stand Up Comedy off late. I remember one fine night when I searched “stand up comedy” on youtube and landed on an hour long stand up act by Robin Williams. Physical comedy with a nasal voice, I believe was his forte. And the best thing is, you don’t have to be an American to understand the jokes that he makes on Americans. If you feel like entertaining yourselves, go ahead and watch Weapons of self destruction and An evening with Robin Williams.

Here is a famous quote that I can remember off the top of my head:

“A woman would never make a nuclear bomb. They would never make a weapon that kills, no, no. They’d make a weapon that makes you feel bad for a while.”

If there is after-life, the Gods must be having a great time with you, Robin Williams! You’ve left us all wondering about your mysterious death. Drugs and Alcohol have taken away from us, the humans, yet again another exceptional human being.

Leave a Reply

